Sea Lions lounging on a white sand beach. Photo by Carl Foreman

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Sea Lions lounging on a white sand beach. Photo by Carl Foreman

Galapagos Conservancy is led by a volunteer Board of Directors who bring a wide variety of expertise and enthusiasm to GC. Learn more about each below.


Chair: Mr. Bradley T. Johnson

Mr. Johnson joined the Board in 2014. He received his undergraduate degree from Dartmouth and his MBA and JD degrees from the University of Virginia. He has worked extensively in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia, and has lived in Latin America, Europe and the Caribbean. Mr. Johnson is an experienced international business advisory consultant and attorney. He is now in private practice specializing in cross border transactions and new business development. He lives in southern Virginia.

Secretary: Dr. Sallie Glomb Reinmund

Dr. Glomb Reinmund joined the Board in 2012. She received her doctorate in cellular biology from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the Bronx, NY. Dr. Glomb Reinmund’s research focus has been on cellular membrane biology and viral entry and infection, and her more recent experience is as a scientific writer and now Medical Director of Science First, LLC. She lives in Summit, New Jersey.

Treasurer: Mr. Glenn Oakley

Mr. Oakley joined the Board in 2014. He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard and an MBA from New York University. Mr. Oakley is the Executive Vice President of Operations and Engineering at CBS Corporate, and has extensive experience in the media industry. He has previously worked for the Discovery, AMC, and Showtime Networks. Mr. Oakley lives in New York City.


Ms. Carolina Jijon

Ms. Carolina Jijon is the director of the Quito Botanical Gardens, a position she has held since 2004 and she concurrently holds the position of Executive Director of the Botanical Foundation of the Andes. As Director of the Botanical Gardens, she rebuilt and opened to the public the first Botanical garden in the city of Quito and created it as a primary reference facility for ex-situ conservation of plants. A dedicated conservationist, she has been a founding member and Board member of various international conservation organizations, including Fundación Natura where she was the president of the board of directors. She was also Executive President of the Quito Zoo. Ms. Jijon is a graduate of the Catholic University of Quito with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology and is a published author on the subject of conservation management.

Dr. Chuck Lane

Dr. Charles Lane joined the Board in 2018. He is a Senior Research Scientist at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research and Development. Dr. Lane’s published research areas include systems ecology, hydrology, biogeochemistry, remote sensing, and wetland ecology. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics (1995) from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and his Master of Science (2000) and Ph.D. (2003) in Systems Ecology from the University of Florida. Prior to earning his graduate degrees, he worked as an interpretive park ranger in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Statue of Liberty National Monument. He has also conducted field research on sea turtle nesting areas of the Ten Thousand Islands National Wildlife Refuge. He lives in in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Dr. Stephen Mette

Dr. Mette joined the Board in 2016. He received his medical degree from Cornell University Medical College. Dr. Mette has broad experience in both academic medical centers and non-university healthcare systems as an expert in lung diseases and as a senior physician executive. His current work is in healthcare delivery reform. He is employed as chief clinical officer at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and previously served in leadership positions with the Maine Medical Center and the Graduate Hospital in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Mette lives in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Mr. Richard Polatty

Mr. Polatty joined the Board in 2016. He attended undergraduate school at Vanderbilt University and graduate school at Emory University (GA) in geology. He became a Galapagos guide in 1985 and has been working in the Islands as chief naturalist for International Nature and Culture Adventures (INCA) since 1990. Other endeavors have included working in the Antarctic since 1990 as expedition leader on various vessels and since the early 1990s he has been a research associate of Oceanites, which runs the Antarctic Site Inventory. He is also active in conservation programs on mainland Ecuador. Mr. Polatty lives on the island of Santa Cruz, Galapagos and Tumbaco, Ecuador.

Dr. Jim Reynolds

Jim Reynolds is the Geology professor at Brevard College and lives in Brevard, North Carolina. Dr. Reynolds joined the Board in 2012. He received his Bachelor’s Degree in Earth Science (1975) and Master’s Degree (Volcanology, 1977) from Dartmouth College. Following stints in the minerals and energy industries, government, and academia for six years, he returned to Dartmouth for a Ph.D. (Andean tectonics, 1987). Since 1984, his research has focused on the 1) uplift of the Andes in Argentina, Chile, and Bolivia, 2) aspects of the geology of the Caribbean Plate, 3) the geology of Iceland, 4) various topics in western North Carolina, and 5) the geology of the Eurotas River Valley in Greece.

Dr. Dan Sherman

Dr. Sherman joined the Board in 2012. He received his doctorate in biology from the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Sherman’s experience in the pharmaceutical industry includes research at the RW Johnson Pharmaceutical Research Institute and the Salk Institute in La Jolla, California. His background also includes software and database development at Isis Pharmaceuticals. Dr. Sherman lives in Lafayette, California.

Dr. David S. Wilcove

Dr. Wilcove is professor of ecology, evolutionary biology, and public affairs at Princeton University. Prior to joining the Princeton faculty, he was senior ecologist at the Environmental Defense Fund in Washington, DC, where he developed science-based strategies to protect endangered species, and previously he served as senior ecologist at The Wilderness Society. He is author of No Way Home: The Decline of the World’s Great Animal Migrations (2008), The Condor’s Shadow: The Loss and Recovery of Wildlife in America (1999), and numerous technical and popular articles in the fields of conservation biology, ornithology, and endangered species protection. He has served on the board of directors of the Society for Conservation Biology, Rare, American Bird Conservancy, Natural Areas Association, and New Jersey Audubon Society, and on the editorial boards of Conservation Biology, Ecological Applications, and Issues in Ecology. In 2001, Wilcove received the Distinguished Service Award of the Society for Conservation Biology in recognition of his work on behalf of endangered species. He received a PhD in biology from Princeton University (1985) and a BS from Yale University (1980).

Connect with us

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube

Latest News

Latest Blog Posts